Joanne Fortin

Joanne H. Fortin, APR, FCPRS

Over the course of her 30 years’ experience in positions of responsibility as part of communications, public relations and press relations teams in industries, government bodies and major public and private organizations, Joanne has developed a unique multidisciplinary expertise in a number of areas. She has advised high level management teams in matters pertaining to corporate marketing, and business marketing and development. She has also devised various approaches to financial communications, government relations and social responsibility.

For more than 20 years, she has been highly involved in education and human rights. She was both a member and vice-chair of the board of directors of the Literacy Foundation. She also served as a mission head for PRWB in Senegal, where she worked with a for-profit organization specialized in defending the rights of women and children against violence, and successfully led a number of awareness-raising initiatives for science (STEM) in Québec and Ontario in learning institutions, in addition to obtaining the support of the Jamaican Ministry of Education to set up science-related programs enabling students to further their education in added-value sectors. She is a member of the Office of the Vice-dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Ottawa.

She is a former co-president of the Société québécoise des professionnels en relations publiques (SQPRP) and a member of the board of directors of the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS). Joanne has received a number of awards, including those of the US Cable and Broadband Security Task Force, the CPRS and the Financial Post.

She is highly respected in the communications and public relations community for having worked for the advancement of her profession. Joanne holds a Master’s in Communications from the Université de Montréal, and a double major in International Development and Social Communications from the University of Ottawa.

She is accredited in public relations (APR) and a Fellow of the Canadian Public Relations Society (FCPRS).